Connect with us


Surya Namaskar step by step and its benefits


Health & Fitness

Surya Namaskar step by step and its benefits

Surya Namaskar step by step and its benefits

Surya Namaskar is a series of 12 powerful yoga poses. Along with its benefits on the cardiovascular system, it has a great positive effect on the body and mind. It’s a full-bod body workout. There are several versions of it. You can start with the basic version and can move to other levels.

Surya Namaskar Steps

Step 1. Pranamasana

Also called Prayer pose. Stand on your mat, keeping your feet together and balancing your weight evenly on both feet. Expand your chest and relax your shoulders. As you inhale, raise both arms from the sides. Bring your palms together in front of your chest in a prayer position while exhaling.

Step 2. Hastauttanasana

Also called Raised arms pose. Breathing in, lift your arms up and back, keeping your biceps close to your ears. In this position, the effort consists of stretching the whole body from the heels to the tips of the toes. You can push your pelvis forward a bit. Make sure to reach with your fingers rather than trying to bend backward.

Step 3. Hastapadasana

Also called Standing forward bend. Exhale, leaning forward from the waist and keeping your spine erect. As you exhale fully, lower your hands to the ground to deepen this yoga stretch. You can bend your knees, if necessary, to drop your palms to the ground. Push yourself gently to straighten your knees. It is a good idea to keep your hands in this position and not move them from now on until we have finished the sequence.

Step 4. Ashwa Sanchalanasana

Also called Equestrian pose. Inhale and push your right leg back as far as possible. Bring your right knee to the ground and lookup. Make sure the left foot is exactly between the palms of the hand.

Step 5. Dandasana

This is commonly known as stick pose. As you inhale, bring your left leg back and bring your whole body in a straight line. Keep your arms at ninety degrees to the ground.

Step 6. Ashtanga Namaskara or points

Also called Salute with eight parts. Gently pull your knees to the ground and breathe out. Lean your hips back slightly and slide forward, resting your chest and chin on the floor. Get your butt up a bit. Hands, feet, knees, chest, and chin (eight body parts) should touch the ground.

Step 7. Bhujangasana

Commonly known as Cobra pose. Slide forward and lift the box up to the cobra pose. You can keep your elbows bent in this position while keeping your shoulders away from your ears. Look at the ceiling. As you inhale, make a gentle effort to push your chest forward. While exhalation, make a gentle effort to push your belly button down. Tuck your toes down. Make sure you stretch as much as you can and don’t put pressure on your body.

Step 8. Adho Mukha Svanasana

Also known as downward facing dog pose. Exhale, lift your hips and tailbone to bring your body into an inverted “V” position. If possible, try to keep your heels on the floor and make a gentle effort to lift your tailbone, deepening the stretch.

Step 9. Ashwa Sanchalanasana

Also known as Equestrian pose. Breathe in and push your right foot forward between your hands. Left knee lower to the ground. Press your hips down and lookup. Place the right foot between the hands and the right calf perpendicular to the ground. In this position, make a gentle effort to push your hips toward the ground, deepening the stretch.

Step 10. Hastapadasana

Also known as standing forward bend. Exhale, push your left foot forward. Keep your palms on the ground. You can bend your knees, if necessary. Gently straighten your knees and, if possible, try to touch your knees to your nose. Keep breathing.

Step 11. Hastauttanasana

Also known as Raised arms pose. Breathe in, roll your spine up. Raise your hands and lean back slightly, slightly pushing your hips out. Make sure your biceps are near your ears. The idea is to stretch more instead of stretching back.

Step 12. Tadasana

Commonly known as Mountain Pose. As you exhale, first stretch your body, then lower your arms down. Relax in this position and feel the sensations in your body.

This completes a Surya Namaskar set. Complete the round by repeating the steps. Only this time, start by bringing your left foot back in step 4 and bring your right foot forward in step 10. Once you are done, you will have completed one round of Surya Namaskar.

Health Benefits of Sun Salutation

It can change various aspects of your life because the sun radiates energy to the earth in the form of heat and sunlight. And, life can’t sustain without sunlight. Below are a few benefits

1.            It improves blood circulation and maintains cardiovascular health

2.            It improves muscle tone and strengthens the body.

3.            It keeps the mind relaxed and increases mental focus.

4.            It improves internal organ functions.

5.            It helps in stretching, improves flexibility hence improves posture.

6.            It boosts immunity


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Health & Fitness



To Top